Scientific Board

The Scientific and Medical Advisory Board to Retina South Africa comprises of professors and doctors, both academics and private professionals in the disciplines of Ophthalmology and Human Genetics.

The board reviews grants and gives expert opinions in both these disciplines.

The current co–Chairs are:

  • Dr Liezel van der Merwe (Pretoria Eye Institute)
  • Professor Raj Ramesar (HOD UCT Division of Human Genetics)

The Board meets annually at the OSSA congress.

Current Board Members:

International Advisors
Professor John Flannery, UCLA – Berkley

South Africa
Dr E Albrecht, Dr A Amod, Prof T Carmichael, Dr A Makgotloe,
Dr I Mayet, Dr J Rice, Dr L Du Toit.
Professor L Visser, Dr S Williams.

Interested in getting involved? GET IN TOUCH NOW